{ENGLISH} The Siren ~ Kiera Cass

We were stars.
We were music.
We were time.

english reviews3

Genre : Romance, Young Adult
Pages : 352
Edition : HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date : 02 may 2017 (Paperback)

IMG_5401

Synopsis : Kahlen is a Siren, bound to serve the Ocean by luring humans to watery graves with her voice, which is deadly to any human who hears it. Akinli is human—a kind, handsome boy who’s everything Kahlen ever dreamed of. Falling in love puts them both in danger . . . but Kahlen can’t bear to stay away. Will she risk everything to follow her heart?

english review

So, since it’s my first English review, please be tolerant ^^ ! I am not fully bilingual but I’ll try my best. Anyway, today I’ll talk about « The Siren » by Kiera Cass, it was one of my last reads before my exams.

I’ll begin to talk about the story itself and the writing. So, the story is not that original but it is written in a new way (at least that I’ve never seen). We follow Kahlen, who’s a siren. A siren’s duty is to serve the Ocean. All the sirens have a special bond with the Ocean, who’s personified like a real person. But in this book, being a Siren is not as you expect it to be, it’s more like a duty than a gift.
The story is interesting but I have to admit it’s kinda long. Like there’s a big part when we follow Kahlen’s feelings and evolution. I don’t mind long parts and descriptions but you should know that there are some parts with no real action.
The writing is really poetic, it’s kinda easy and light to read. I already read Kiera Cass’s writing in the first book of « The Selection » but it was in French so it is really different. The only thing that disappointed me was the end. It is cute but I wanted a more reflexive ending, something that stays in your mind after you’ve closed the book, and I think that could have been that way. So that end was « too easy » for me…

Whatever happened, I’d met my person, the one my soul connected to.

About the characters, I found them really cute. First, Kahlen is a sensitive girl, who likes to read and stays at home. I have to admit I recognized myself in her. But she thinks too much and she’s sometimes depressing ^^.  So, I liked her but she annoyed me sometimes.

Books were a safe place, a world apart from my own. No matter what had happened that day, that year, there was always a story in which someone overcame their darkest hour. I wasn’t alone.

Her sisters were cute and joyful and I easily became attached to them. But of course I loved Akinli, who’s super cute and adorable and just so kind !
What I loved in this book is that it’s all about love. Not just romantic love but also brotherly love and maternal love ! It was really interesting and I liked the fact that it makes you realize the power that love has.

There’s always room for love. Even if it’s as small as a crack in the door.

In the end, I found that reading really cute (yeah, I told that 3 times already sorry ^^) and I loved all the Siren stuff, since I’m obsessed with mermaids… Anyway if you’re looking for a cute romance, and you love mermaids and magic just go for it!

english review2

3:5 Eng
3 / 5
Laisser un commentaire

